The cost of being pro microsoft …. clearly seen at the Global Integration Summit in Boston

May 30, 2006

Disclaimer: I am a little emotional right now. Bottom Line: we did win an award [not 1st place] and I will post details/pictures about it soon.  For years I have believed that the best technology should always win. When I was in college i worked with the JDK 1.1 (Java Development Kit) and I loved it. I had worked with VB 3 and 4 before that and I thought that Java was going to rule. I couldnt have been more wrong. I wrote my “real”
business application in Java and realized the performace as a fat client was a far from real world! It simply didnt respond. I talked to some engineers at sun that I knew during college and told them give me a native interface to windows (something like ngen.exe)….they didnt listen. I knew the write once run anywhere …was worth nothing to me….95% of the world runs windows..so the run anywhere was meaningless, all i wanted
was run on windows! That was 7 years ago….today I realized that as good as the .net platform is and robust our technology all that didnt matter…all that the judges cared about were if we were JAVA!! I was handed a paper today with the recommendations from the judges at the Global Integration Summit and it said the following:

Too much dependency on Microsoft and no support for open source.

The last time I checked web services and SOA were platform independent! (this was an SOA
challenge) in which we smoked out competitors! But hold on a second aren’t the other vendors too dependent on Java/Sun!! I am not anti-java or sun, I admire the innovations that come from that side, but I dont understand why the other side is not able to do the same! Well enough of that….I guess people will be people and their bias will always get in the way! We did win an award at the Global Integration Summit….I am happy about that and I will post
some pictures when Gretchen gets them to me. The real question is how many of the vendors (of the showcase participants) have the kahunas to make their software available to the public to download and evaluate for themselves? The answer….

Stone Bond , AboveAll and BEA!
[see previous post on participants]

– Nikhil Roy

Update: It was ponted out correctly that AboveAll also offers downloads on theier website, I added them to the list.

3 Responses to “The cost of being pro microsoft …. clearly seen at the Global Integration Summit in Boston”

  1. David Says:

    Very interesting. Let’s chat about this JAVA thing because you bring up very good points.

  2. Sona Says:

    Congratulations
    “Do the right thing. It will gratify some people and astonish the rest.”

  3. Lei Says:

    Great job at the Summit! Eventually someone will listen!


Leave a Reply

